Free shipping on all US orders!

Cincinnati Mohawks

The first hockey team in the city of Cincinnati, the Cincinnati Mohawks started play in the AHL in 1949-50 and played their games at historic Cincinnati Gardens on the city's north side when it opened that year. The Mohawks had trouble competing in the AHL, finishing last in their division their first two years and posting an under .500 record in their first three. After that, they moved to the IHL for the 1952-53 season and everything went perfectly. No, really it did. They won five straight IHL titles from 1953 through 1957 and won at least forty games each year (the league played either 60 or 64 game seasons). They would fold after the 1957-58 season but were the first in a long line of hockey teams from the Queen City. Famous Mohawks include Fred Shero and Harry Howell.